File permissions when copying in Windows 2000

In Win2k, copying a user's "bookmarks" to a new computer can sometimes make the admin's privileges replace the user's.

In Windows 2000, when replacing a user's computer and copying their "bookmarks" to the new computer, sometimes the administrator's privileges replace the user's permissions.

This happens if you copy the bookmarks from the old PC to a network location (with admin permissions only), and then move them from the network to the new PC. This tends to move the permissions of the files too. Simply be aware of this and add everyone (or whatever) permission to the bookmarks.

This did not happen in Windows NT.


This was last published in October 2001

Dig Deeper on Windows legacy operating systems

PRO+

Content

Find more PRO+ content and other member only offers, here.

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchVirtualDesktop

SearchWindowsServer

SearchExchange

Close